Wicket in Action, go get it

19 08 2008

So the book are finally out. I’ve been using the MEAP early access program reading the chapters as they came out. I deem myself to have a fair knowledge of wicket, but as it are self learned there are some gaps that needs to be closed. There were no books on wicket back in 2005 when I first got into wicket, it had a pretty steep learning curve for me, comming from a JSP and .net background I had to unlearn a lot of stuff to finally let go and ride the Wicket wave. Wicket in action closes these gaps nicely for me.

Wicket in Action really takes you softly through the cheeser application and at the end places you with an production ready application. This greatly softens the learning curve.

So what could be missing? Well for a beginner book nothing. If you pick it up for advanced use I’d liked to seen some more about creating your own ajax components, and howto create your own IRequestCodingStrategy to append a keyword to be able to cache with something like Apache Http server. But these are pretty advanced topics and probably not something you would stumple into.

So my advice are go buy the book, advanced or beginner it’ll certainly help you a lot and for the low price (maybe too low for such a great work) Manning are selling it for there are really no reason why not to Buy it.

For me it glues the areas of web development with Apache Wicket together and gives a great overview of Apache Wicket…it will make a great compendium.

Actions

Information

One response

10 09 2009
sandrar

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

